Asus routers are becoming more and more popular nowadays, mainly due to their compact designs and wireless signal range. Over the years they have introduced many different models of routers in the market each brimming with unique features which make it stand out from its competitors. This article sheds light on one of the most used functions of an Asus router – resetting to factory settings. It is very often that you will find yourself in a situation where you need to reset your router so this guide can be quite handy in those situations.
Do note that when you factory reset your Asus router, all your configuration settings such as username password, etc will be deleted, so ensure that you backup these before proceeding below. To backup, your configuration log into administrator then click backup and restore tab, you will see a button that says backup.
Note: After resetting your router to factory settings, you may need to reconfigure it again in order for it to work correctly.
Steps to follow to Reset Asus Router to Factory Setting
To hard reset Asus Router, follow the steps below:
1. The first step is to open up its web-based configuration utility settings page using any browser on a computer that is connected to the same network as the router (usually via ethernet cable). You should see a login prompt.
2. Then type in the default username & password for your router: Username = admin; Password = admin. After successfully logging in with these details proceed to the next step outlined in the table below. Just be sure you are logged into the correct user interface which varies depending on what model of wifi router you have, so ensure that if you are not sure, make use of the “Show Advanced” tab or button on top of each menu on the admin page.
3. After logging into your Asus router, look for a “Restore” or “Factory Default” option in the left side menu of that web page (if you are on v24 firmware or newer). Then click on it and proceed to the next step.
4. Once clicked, another window with a warning message should appear saying your current settings will be erased; just click YES button then wait until this happens. It can take from several seconds up to several minutes depending on what model you have and how much content is there in its memory. The time taken here depends solely on the model of router you have so don’t panic or get impatient if it takes longer than usual.
5. After all your settings have been reset, the router should automatically reboot (if not then do it manually) and you will find your internet connection is down. Just reconfigure everything back to how you like it then check if it works!
So there you have it, you can now reset your Asus router back to factory settings. This is a basic tutorial on how to do this, but feel free to comment below if you have any questions or concerns regarding this topic and we’ll help answer them as soon as possible! Good luck with configuring your Asus router again!